Cy Young Awards Announced Tonight

The NL and AL Cy Young Award winners will be announced tonight at 6pmET on MLB Network.

The AL race appears to be locked up, as Justin Verlander led his league in F12 Rating (31.422), Innings, Strikeouts, Complete Games, ERA+, and WAR. Verlander ranked #1 in F12 for 17 weeks this season. Choosing anyone else for Cy Young this year would do a disservice to the award.

The NL is a different story however. Clayton Kershaw led the NL in F12 Rating (31.219), ERA, WHIP, and H/9. But R.A. Dickey wasn’t that far behind in F12 (just 0.45 points behind), and he led the league in Innings, Strikeouts, Complete Games, and Shutouts. Dickey also won 20 games, which will give him the edge with the more traditional voters.

In the end, I’m choosing Dickey because…. I’m a Mets fan.

AL F12: Justin Verlander
NL F12: Clayton Kershaw

AL Sven’s pick: Justin Verlander
NL Sven’s pick: R.A. Dickey

About C. Sven Jenkins
My name is Sven Jenkins, and I’m an independent baseball analyst from Poughkeepsie, NY. I own and do freelance work for STATS Inc. In the past, I've done research for the St. Louis Cardinals and worked one season with Baseball Info Solutions in 2007. I have also spent many nights as an official scorer in the minor leagues and played NCAA D-III baseball at SUNY New Paltz. In the off-season I travel the world, having enjoyed over 1,200 days on the road through 41 different countries. You can email me at: jenkins AT 60ft6in DOT com.

2 Comments on Cy Young Awards Announced Tonight

  1. Just got a great email from the Adam Greenberg/Samson/Loria haters….

    Dickey had 230Ks, Kershaw had 229Ks, Dickey struck out Greenberg.

  2. Josh Robbins // November 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm // Reply

    The BBWAA totally missed on the AL Cy Young. Verlander was clearly superior to Price in 2012. Wins once again prevailed. All you need to look at is F12 Rating.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.